SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By mcguire
Hello, fellow SFE fans. I received a GM862 a few days ago and am trying to get it working. I've been working with this type of circuitry for many years and am comfortable with it; I'm pretty sure I've set it up correctly...but I see no signs of life from the GM862. I'm wondering if anyone can provide any advice. I will describe my setup.

On a solderless breadboard, I have a brand new GM862 installed on the SFE bare-bones carrier board, with one metal tab soldered for a solid ground. I'm powering it from an LT1528 regulator set for 3.8V using a 1K trimmer resistor, with two paralleled 47uF/10V tantalum capacitors and one 0.1uF ceramic capacitor on the output, and one 47uF/10V tantalum capacitor on the input. Also on the breadboard is an LM2937-3.3 powering a MAX3232 level converter. The whole breadboard is powered by an adjustable switching bench supply set for 5V. That supply tops out at about 5A. I also have an LED connected (with the correct polarity) between the GM862's "status LED" output to a 330ohm resistor, then to +3.8V. I have a pushbutton switch wired to the GM862's "power on/off" pin. An MMCX->SMA pigtail and a quad-band antenna complete the setup.

When I apply power and exercise the power on/off pushbutton switch, I get no activity on the serial port, and no activity on the LED. I have swapped LEDs, series resistors, and MAX3232 chips, I have verified all supply voltages with a good meter, and checked the power supply (both before and after the regulators) for noise with an oscilloscope and have found nothing above ~10mV. When I look at the serial lines with the scope, I see the data coming from my computer when I type "AT<cr>", but nothing coming back. All of the behaviors noted above are unchanged with the addition of a SIM card.