SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By thumperj
Hi, I've got an odd request but I'll try to be brief. My wife has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. However, she's within 6 hours of finishing her law degree. Her teachers have agreed to allow me to come to class with her in case something happens but I have to sit in the back of the room.

Here's my need. I need to build a simple circuit that will act as a really simple comm device between she and I that will be a signal that she needs my help. We've found that during chemo, nausea comes on quick so I want her to be able to press a button on a tx that causes my rx to light up/vibrate - whatever. The output type on the rx is easy. What I don't know how to start is getting her input signal (a button press) to my rx.

Can someone suggest a starting point (circuit diagram, modem board, anything)? I'm not a complete noob just a noob to RF and I just need to get this done as simple as possible and quickly. Class starts Monday.

Thanks for any help!
Chris
By redteardrop
That sounds like a good idea, I haven't used the RF, I'm trying to use bluetooth. I am pretty new, but from what I've seen you should be able to use a wireless connection to 2 units. her unit might just be able to use a button to close the circuit on the TX line to transmit a signal to you. On your unit, have a mcu that detects the input and then closes a relay that's connected to a small vibrating motor with some LEDs or something. Bluetooth would be expensive to make, so the RF might work just as good.
In all honesty though, if all you need is a signal, you might just be able to use a walkie talkie set that has the page function. She just pushes a button on the unit and a small beep shows on yours.
By riden