SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By diego
Bonjour,

I'm working with Sparkfun's MiRF boards and I've got them working with relatively low frequencies when clocking in data for transmission (approximately 40ms clock frequency). It was a bit of a learning curve to get that far, considering this is my first time attempting this, but I digress.

I've noticed that the datasheets claim I can work with up to 1Mbps, and I really have to question the accuracy of that. I've tried it at approximately 400kbps and the chips don't seem to like that. So before I go playing around with what the optimal frequency is, does anyone have suggestions or resources to point me in the right direction?

I have to say I'm disappointed that it's not working at this frequency since I need to simultaneously handle other code in my micro while transmitting, and I'm handling everything manually (I'm trying to keep strict tabs on the number of instructions and clock cycles for execution). The less time I spend in tranmission the better.

Also, one of the units I received doesn't work. I popped it into direct mode to monitor the DATA channel and it doesn't even pick up noise. What are Sparkfun's return policies on this kind of stufF?

Cheers,
Diego
By DarioG
Hi, I guess you're using Shockburst: In this case, Clocking Data can be done at 1MHz (500nS rise/fall CLK time) and on-the-air time should be around 400-500 uS for 16 bytes @ 250KBps (what I'm using now). BTW, you don't have to actively wait for transmission to end, but the micro can do other things.

What are your timings? I have not used 1MBps, but things ought to work the same (even if someone else claimed that there were some timing issues here and there). I had problems at the beginning, but *not* due to BPS.
By diego
Yes, I'm in Shockburst. Here's my clock in process:

Assert appropriate data on the DATA line, wait 2.5us.
Set the clock high, wait 2.5us.