SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links
By dover
Hi there,

I am new to sparkfun products. I’ve got 2 sets of RFM22 and Arduino boards and tried running them as a pair, one is the server and the other is the client. I used the example codes provided, and two sets run on two computers, about 2 feet apart. First, the two talk to each other, which is good. But it seems the communication is very unreliable. I changed the “Hello World!” to a counter value (counting from 0 to 9 in a loop) to measure the reliability of the communication. The server gets about 7 numbers out of 10 numbers sent from the client, in turn, the client gets only 2-3 numbers back from the original 10 numbers it sent out. It seems the failure rate is as high as 30% loss in each way. Is there something wrong or this is the failure rate I should expect? I tried extending the delay in each transmission, it did not help.

dover
By dover
Hi jremington, thanks a lot for responding.

Yes, I was surprised by the low success rate. I must have missed something. I followed the Quickstart Guide to have made the antenna. It’s a piece of #22 solid wire. It’s 8.3cm long. But after threading it back thru the strain relief hole, the straight portion of the wire is about 7.9cm. (maybe my boards are not set for 919MHz? How can I find it out?). I used the demo codes from arduino. Just went to File->Examples->RF22 and loaded rf22_client and rf22_server for each board set connected to two computers. I noticed the transmission was not reliable. So, I changed the “Hello World!” to a counter value counting from 0-9. Then I found I only got about 7 numbers out of 10 numbers sent on each way.
By dover
Hi jremington,