RF Remote to Receiver >Arduino for Scoreboard

All things pertaining to wireless and RF links

Moderator: phalanx

Post Reply
Boski1134
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:54 pm

RF Remote to Receiver >Arduino for Scoreboard

Post by Boski1134 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:04 pm

Hello All,
This is my first post and my first Arduino project. I am creating a Scoreboard with LEDs that I can control with a 4 button RF remote. The problem that I am having is that when a button on the remote is pressed it sends 4-5 signals to the receiver. So.. instead of the score going up by 1 it goes up by 4 or 5. I was hoping someone has some experience in this might be able to steer me in the right direction. Thank you in advance.

paulvha
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:39 am

Re: RF Remote to Receiver >Arduino for Scoreboard

Post by paulvha » Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:20 am

normally each button on a remote has a unique code that can consist of multiple bytes. You can add a little code to read and check which unique code was received and update you scoreboard ( e.g. add 1 or 10, or subtract 1 or 10 etc).

darrellg
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:02 am
Location: Southern California

Re: RF Remote to Receiver >Arduino for Scoreboard

Post by darrellg » Thu Sep 13, 2018 10:00 am

How is the remote connected to the Arduino? If there is any kind of mechanical switching in your remote receiver (like a relay), you'll need to debounce the Arduino inputs.

Valen
Support Volunteer
Posts: 1743
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:05 am

Re: RF Remote to Receiver >Arduino for Scoreboard

Post by Valen » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:19 am

Often rf remotes (or IR probably also) send multiple repeats of command packets. To ensure reception chances and verify for errors in transmission. Your arduino code would need to be smart enough to recognize and verify the repeats are the same. And once the command is received verified and understood implement a time delay to not execute the command (increase, decrease, reset) more than once within reasonable time.

As often (always), if you give more insight to what code it running on your Arduino then we might be able to provide more explicit suggestions.

Post Reply