SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Everything ARM and LPC
By baldforehead
Hey guys,

So I'm working on a compass sensor HMC6352 and lpc1769 with I2C protocol. The compass sensor suppose to give new heading every time I move its position, but I only get '0' as the printf reading.

I'm totally new to I2c, so your guidance is really appreciated. I also have done my homework on this, here's some extra detail if you decided to help me:
• As given in data sheet (pg.3) The compass sensor address (slave address) is 0x42 (read) / 0x43 (write). So, the 7bit address (before shifting and OR-ing) that i sent is 0x21 to either I2C_READ or I2C_WRITE
• The slave register address is 0x41 (data sheet pg. 5, table 1 – command ‘A’)
• I’m using SDA2 (P0.10) and SCL2 (p0.11) - I'm using lpc1769
• The code use 6000u sec delay as suggested (data sheet pg.8 table 3)
• Clock is 100kHz
• I connect 15kohm resistor between SCAL and SDA line to 5v. (10k is recommended for 3.3v. However 5v is still within the acceptable range. I've tried 2k, 10k, and 15k, but all give the same result)

So here's the datasheet for reference https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Com ... MC6352.pdf.
And here's the code
Code: Select all
#include "lpc17xx_pinsel.h"
#include "lpc17xx_i2c.h"
#include "lpc17xx_timer.h"
#include "stdio.h"

#define I2CDEV LPC_I2C2
static const int READ_WRITE_OPERATION = 0x21;
static const int COMMAND_GET_DATA = 0x41;

void readFromCompassHMC6352(void);
static int I2CRead(uint8_t addr, uint8_t* buf, uint32_t len);
static int I2CWrite(uint8_t addr, uint8_t* buf, uint32_t len);

static int I2CRead(uint8_t addr, uint8_t* buf, uint32_t len)
{
	I2C_M_SETUP_Type rxsetup;
	rxsetup.sl_addr7bit = addr;
	rxsetup.tx_data = NULL; // Get address to read at writing address
	rxsetup.tx_length = 0;
	rxsetup.rx_data = buf;
	rxsetup.rx_length = len;
	rxsetup.retransmissions_max = 3;
	if (I2C_MasterTransferData(I2CDEV, &rxsetup, I2C_TRANSFER_POLLING) == SUCCESS){
		return (0);