SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Everything ARM and LPC
By cvecchio
Does anyone know where can I find documentation on interfacing with the MOD-MP3 board?

Is the specification for the UEXT connector available somewhere?

Is there code resident on the board as shipped that will allow stand-alone operation?

I just bought two of the modules and I thought they would come with some documentation. The Olimex website provides a schematic (but no info on the operation of the UEXT connector) and some sample LPC-P2148 demo code (but this consists of about 100 separate unexplained files for a processor I've never programmed before).

I can't be the only one confused here......
By brennen
Most all of the information you requested is available here: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=7832 . The UEXT connector is diagrammed there. The software that is linked to on this page is for an LPC-P2148 which you would have to buy separately, as the MOD-MP3 board has no onboard microcontroller. With that said, you don't have to worry about putting any code onto your MOD-MP3 board, only a microcontroller board that you would buy yourself that would control the MOD-MP3.

The device can act as a stand-alone MP3 player by putting a music on an SD card and inserting it into the board. I'm not sure about configuration switches or whatever it takes to get it to work in this way, however, as I don't own the board. There appear to be a bunch of jumpers on that board, so take a look at the schematic or flyer to see if you can figure out what each setting does. If all else fails, just try stuff. :lol:
By cvecchio
True the MOD-MP3 board has no onboard microcontroller but it does have an onboard EEPROM and it boots from this in stand-alone mode. Another post on this forum lead me to believe I might have to program the EEPROM myself before things would work but that is not true.