SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Questions relating to designing PCBs
By cobleg
Hi, I'm a brand new hobbyist looking for some advice.

I've just created my first PCB layout in Eagle and want to actually have this manufactured. This will then be a little test board that I can use try various PIC programs. I wanted to keep this as simple as possible as I eventually want to create a simple IR transmitter that can register a hit on my laser tag gun.

I can't seem to attach or paste pictures, so I've added links to our tumblr site: http://coblelasertag.tumblr.com/.

BTW, I'm willing to pay for the advice and can email files too. Just post your details and fee.

Thanks in advance for the advice!
Last edited by cobleg on Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:22 pm, edited 6 times in total.
By CircuitPeople
I was going to have a look at your but, frankly, I'm not willing to wait the 60 seconds for the download to start at the website you used to post the files. It takes all of 10 seconds on Google to identify a file hosting service that's a little less onerous.
By leon_heller
For a better response, show images rather than Eagle files, so that people can see them directly. Most people can't be bothered to download files and open them.
By cobleg
CircuitPeople wrote:I was going to have a look at your but, frankly, I'm not willing to wait the 60 seconds for the download to start at the website you used to post the files. It takes all of 10 seconds on Google to identify a file hosting service that's a little less onerous.
Thanks for the advice. I've posted the pics on our new tumblr site http://coblelasertag.tumblr.com/.
By leon_heller
Lots of problems!

The schematic needs redrawing properly. It's probably OK, but it's difficult to read.

On the PCB, route the supply and ground first, using wide parallel tracks. Then route the crystal, returning the capacitor grounds direct to the nearest ground pin on the chip.
By n1ist
Schematic: