SparkFun Forums 

Where electronics enthusiasts find answers.

Have questions about a SparkFun product or board? This is the place to be.
By Nakor
Hello,

I recently received my 2x2 button pad ( http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/produc ... ts_id=9277 ) but it does not work as I had expected. I'm really new to all of this so I may be just having a stupid day. I had expected the switch pin would return a number from which I could pull what button is being pressed. Obviously I need to do some more reading. Could someone please point me in the right direction here? I would love a tutorial or two that explains how these things work. I have seen and read the keypad Arduino stuff but that doesn't seem to be helping me just yet. I've tried searching this forum (and Google) but I seem to be missing the answer.

I am plugging the pad into an Arduino.

Thanks.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I don't yet have the diodes installed (SparkFun was out when I put my order through).
By Nakor
I've figured out how to control the LEDs (although not individually). I still haven't figured out how to tell what button is being pressed, or if any button is being pressed at all. I'm thinking that the grounds are somehow supposed to be used for data but I'm not sure how to do that and don't want to fry my board lol.
By Cory
Looks like we're in the same boat. I just bought my button pad and I can't figure out the buttons. My first thought was this: The Switch pin acted as a pull up resistor, and each button ground would go HIGH when the button was pressed. However, I've tried everything and I can't get them to behave correctly.

The lights, on the other hand, I was able to figure out. I created a Library for them to simplify my base program, but to turn on each light, I did the following:
Code: Select all
void ledColor(int led, int r, int g, int b)
{
  analogWrite(red,r);
  analogWrite(green,g);
  analogWrite(blue,b);
  delay(2);  //Accounts for flickering
  digitalWrite(led,LOW);